The Pancake Debacle 

I’ve been on the roll lately cooking up many vegan dishes that have been amazing from Banana Walnut Muffins, pastas, mexican dishes, and cookies. All of my recipes work great and I was feeling like I got the swing of cooking vegan style.

What started off as a great cooking weekend for vegan dishes ended up on a flat note….literally! This is how my weekend started. Saturday morning started with a delicious smoothie and then for lunch I had a vegetarian pizza from Newk’s. For dinner my hubs made a delicious Creamy Veggie Pasta that was so good.( I will post the recipe this week for this) So that night, I contemplated what my next vegan dish to make would be. I figured it was time to make pancakes. 

I searched many sites and also used my original pancake recipe for ideas. I had a great plan and all the ingredients to get started. So Sunday morning, I gathered all the ingredients and began to work on the pancakes.

I begin to scoop the pancake batter on the hot skillet. So far so good.. about 4-5 min cooked on 1 side, I flipped the pancake to the other side to begin cooking. As soon as the pancake was “cooked”, I grabbed one to taste, because I couldn’t wait to taste my new masterpiece. To my dismay, the batter was still too mushy. So I let the rest cook, checked it again in 3 min, still too mushy. So now, I’m getting concerned, thats about 10 min cooked on each side and still not the texture I was expecting. The outside looked nice and had a slight crisp,  but the inside was very cake like and mushy. So I immediately called my husband over and we contemplated so many ideas to save the remaining batch of pancakes. We tried different temperature options and adding more milk to thin the batter some. We even conceplated putting in the oven to fiinish cooking. 

At this point, Im starting to feel frustrated. So I decided to just cook the remaining batter for 5 min per side and roll with it. Either we eat them or we don’t. I made a fruit compote to go on top that was good, so maybe it would be my saving grace. 

After I finished cooking all the pancakes,  I called Layla, my 6 year old  and my husband to the table for breakfast. Here it is the moment of truth…would they be somewhat edible or not.  Layla picks up 3 of the pancake “frisbees” (lol thats what we named them) and placed them on her plate. I pour her maple syrup and gave her some fruit compote and just stood there to watch to se what her response would be. She gobbled her frisbees up lol. She said they were different but good. My husband also ate his, even though it was probably more out of not wanting to hurt my feelings. I asked them to rate the taste of the pancakes and Layla said, “100. ” Lol!  My husband said, “6 out of 10.”  So not bad scores. 

It resonated with me, that its ok to “mess up” on this journey. I will have winning recipes and some recipes like this…the pancake recipe where it will take more than once to get it just right. I’m just happy I have the support of my family on this journey , and no worries,  I am more determined to master making pancakes now! As soon as I do I will post the recipe! 

Leave a comment